As I sit down this evening and think about my day, I just can’t decide what to write about. My mind quickly reflects on all that I saw, did, experienced and navigated just in the last 13 hours. If I tried to capture all of it, I might sound manic. But I also then begin to think about all of those little moments.

The day at Joyner starts early and quick. Before children are even in the building, work begins and our school begins to groove. I enjoy the filter of teachers walking by and greeting each other. Quick conversations happen. Answers to questions are sought. Then the bell begins and so do we all. Children come from every direction. I enjoy those first 30 minutes as families and children all mingle and begin their school day together. I have the opportunity to reach out to students and be reached out towards.

Once students begin the learning for the day, I move too. Today I met with teachers in regards to their professional goals for the year. Other meetings were scattered throughout the day as well. Some of these meetings with adults and others with kids. Some meetings are scheduled and some just happen on the spot. The topics wide-ranging.

I get out into the building to see the learning and teaching. It is always exciting that I don’t even have to enter a classroom to see learning happening. All spaces at Joyner are fair game for collaboration. More likely than not, I notice students meeting on the couch by our cow. Reading together or using whiteboards to discuss math. I walk down the hallways and engage in conversations with students moving from one space to another.

Walking into classrooms and sitting down next to students is great. I have the ability to walk into a kindergarten class that talks about all the types of family members we can have and then move to a fifth grade classroom experimenting density of matter and division. I sat down in a second grade classroom reading a book about sharks and really did connect with a student who wondered why we need to care for sharks. A teacher stopped me to share the incredible work her students were doing as they made their thinking visible with Creativity, Collaboration, Communication and Critical Thinking. And then I talked about artists with a couple of fourth grade boys as we discussed why was Josef Albers so precise.

Each of these moments are important as they are the touch points of the work at Joyner. When I sit back to consider all of the action that happens in a day at an elementary school, I am in awe. The learning, growing, planning, providing and connecting that we do is ongoing. The activity is continuous.

Each of these precious moments are reminders of how interaction is a valued piece of the learning we do. What a great week. What a busy week. What learning we are doing.

