I enjoy reading. I have shared my joy of reading with my own children. I just wrapped up a great journey with Henry Huggins (Beverly Cleary) and my son. It is fun to reread the classics and then allow him to introduce me to the newest characters of the book world.

I also enjoy reading for myself. We have built a culture of reading on our staff. I enjoy trading book titles and sharing what I am currently reading. It is never difficult to find someone to talk about their book or listen to me share my thoughts about my book. In our lead secretary’s office, she has built a small lending library. Staff members bring books and trade books. Ms. Ennis will stop for a moment and chat about her current book too with whoever stops by.

This past month, our county again sent out a request for the donation of books. And this year again, the Joyner community has responded with a large giving heart! I KNOW we made our goal of 100 books for the 26 days of the Healthy Choice Marathon. And at last count on Monday, we were almost to 4,000 books that we will give from our community to children in our larger community.

I cannot begin to express the gratitude that I have for the Joyner community in their act of giving. Time and again when the call goes out, the Joyner community responds. We are now organizing how to get nearly 4000 books to the delivery location. But I look forward to bringing that joy forward and sharing the Joyner love.

Thank you for sharing the gift of reading to so many children in our community. It truly is a gift of a lifetime.

