I was home in time to take my son on a quick evening walk. We held hands and checked out the stars that began to shine. Our whole walk was filled with fun little conversations. We talked about how to know which stars are the wishing stars. We found shapes in the sky with the stars. We talked about the houses we walked by and who could be living there. The creative spin on our walk was fun to follow. Having the moment to just enjoy just each other’s company and voice filled our souls.

As I think about my day, I think of the small moments I shared with children that highlighted those creative spirits. I walked into a kindergarten class. Students were all over the room being active in text in many ways. Children were reading alone on carpet squares. There was a parent volunteer sprawled on the floor sharing a book with a student. And in the back of the room sat a little girl intently working in a book. She was filling the picture portion of the page with lots images. I asked her about the story she was creating with the pictures. She began with the snake. Her story was about a snake that wanted to live in a rainbow but might need to go to the store. She included the store in the picture. And the snake might need to buy bananas at the store. Yes, there was a banana on the page. I snapped the picture and shared with the twitter world. But I also was captivated by the ideas swirling in that little mind and pouring out onto the page.

In another class, I talked with a group working with building blocks. They talked about the messy but heavy roof to their tunnel. But they also highlighted the perfect decorative openings to the tunnel.

During lunch, several second graders shared the games they were making up at the table together to play. Their imaginations made us all laugh.

I talked with a first grader as he excitedly shared his day of learning about shapes. We shared the fun reasons why we have favorite shapes and where we see them all over. The creative way he saw shapes in his world was impressive.

There is so much to learn in elementary school. We are readers, writers, mathematicians, scientists and more. But I hope we always also remember we are creators. We have these wonderful little minds that come see us every day. I hope we can find ways to nurture their curiosity and creativity. I am so lucky to be in the presence of these little minds. They keep my creativity growing as well. I encourage all adults to find those moments to let creativity take over the conversation. It is an enjoyable time to join our children in their creative imagination.

