I have found myself asked about my summer a bit more often this past week. Parents and students all ask what I do, am I bored, is it lonely. It is difficult to put to words the whirlwind of summer. First of all, YES I feel lonely without kid and teacher voices in the hallways. The walls are lost without artwork and displays. School misses its soul with children and teachers not here.

But these are the moments that we begin to do our crafting for the next year. We plan budgets, look for supplies, complete the design of our schedule, hire, and the list goes on and on. When I stop to think about it, I am pushed with my creativity as I look ahead and plan and map our next year. I think of new possibilities. I hear from staff. I read reflections they have provided. I look at the data that will come in. I meet with many different folks that are involved in the many layers that make schools run.

I truly allow myself to open to many possibilities. I am able to recharge my batteries through reading and building my own professional knowledge.

And I think about our students. Summer is their time to recharge their batteries as well. I encourage our kids to be creative. I want them to stretch those creative juices. Create those imaginative play areas in the backyard or under the table. Look for ways to develop new skills.

Of course, I wish for everyone to read. I want to hear about new books and different genres attempted. Take on adventures around the corner or across the world. Try a new food. Be open to possibilities.

I hope everyone finds a wonderful summer full of excitement and fun. Thank you for every word of support, every effort given for kids, and every moment you made better the life of a Joyner student.

Happy Summer and I look forward to seeing many of you in August!

