I stepped out of my car last night as I got home and yes, the humidity has arrived. There is not denying that a North Carolina summer is coming sooner than I can believe. We have only days left of school. People keep asking me if I am counting down. My response is always one day at a time. I don’t think too far ahead because we have so much to do each day. EOGs have been a large focus but also final assessments, projects and fun are planned and in action.

But I will pause to share with families, that I want YOU to go ahead and start thinking of summer a little. Our students have made such amazing strides in their learning. I encourage you emphatically, don’t let the momentum stop. Keep reading with joy and celebration. Share stories of the places you go and things you do if you stay. Write about the fun. Encourage the math in life.

Explore ways to connect to the community. The museums and libraries offer summer programs. Even local bookstores offer summer reading programs and challenges with free books at the end! There are activities at the local parks departments. There are so many ways that our students can stay active in their minds as well as their bodies. Visit with that friendly elderly neighbor. Call an older family member and ask for their story. Help your child continue to ask questions and learn about who they are.

I am not ready to say goodbye for the summer so I won’t, but go ahead and find me if you want more ideas of what to do. Keep that mind busy while having fun and relaxing.

 

