As we start the month of December, I always talk with the teachers about ways we can keep our students settled as long as we can during this very exciting time. But I also enjoy seeing the incredible flurry and activity that the students are involved in now and throughout the year.

So yes this week of all weeks, we are trying to keep focused on learning and manage the energy, excitement and buzz while still enjoying ourselves. Today as I walked through the building, I was so impressed by those activities. Our Pre K students were engaged with Mad Scientists. Our third graders built compost waste to place night crawlers in. Our fourth graders shared more of their inventions and were interviewed by fellow students. Our fifth graders are gearing up to the culminating activity with the Revolutionary War.

I LOVE the learning I see. I LOVE that our teachers continue to find creative ways to keep our students involved in the learning process. Students are actively engaged in conversations with each other and their teacher. And with three days before a break, they have not stopped!

I encourage our families to not stop even while on break. Share traditions from your childhood. This builds that historical perspective of who they are. Ask your child to cook with you. Imagine the math and science involved! What makes those cookies go from gooey to hard? Explore and look for answers. Debate the search you do on the internet to discover that answer. Was is from a reputable source? These real world connections build a knowledge that you may not realize shines at school.

I wish everyone a wonderful winter break. Enjoy each other! And we look forward to seeing everyone fresh and ready in the new year!

