I have seen some pretty silly things this week. Teachers laughing in the hallways with video cameras doing the strangest behaviors. Others looking for odd props. And some even dancing to music in the elevator. We are absolutely gearing up for a Night of Nonsense. And then we have this tragedy that our nation is facing once again.

As I process the most recent happenings of the world, I have come across a sentiment on social media from Mr. Rogers. Time again when tragedies arise, this message finds its way out to the public to remind us all that there is good in the world even amidst such bad. If you have not seen the quote, here is the length of it:

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things on the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.’ To this day, especially in times of ‘disaster,’ I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.” -Mr. Rogers

When I consider the laughter of this week, I think about the message that we are sending to our community with Night of Nonsense. I believe it is important for us all to take the time to laugh together and to be together as a community. I am glad we will have this opportunity to connect, support and help each other.

Everyday we have the joy of working with an incredible group of children. Our students at Joyner give us so much to be happy about and be hopeful for. We look forward to our event on Thursday when we can pause again and focus on the joy in Joyner!

